The Vagina Monologues, a Review: I wept.

I thought back on the days when I was a raging feminist. Those days are filled with fond memories of being offended by Chrysler commercials* promoting some van with stow-n-go seating. Memories of bitter diatribes about how men ruin everything and how Sarah Palin is a poor excuse for a woman and embarrassment. Memories of Drew telling me to go set fire to my bra or telling me I was a raging, militant feminist, a truth I was in no way ashamed of.

Those days are no more.  Unfortunately.

Actually, it’s not so much that I’m no longer a feminist. It’s not even that I have decided I don’t give a fuck about equal rights or the promotion of equality for all.  Quite the contrary. I’m still all about it. It’s just that I’m not as hardcore about it, I guess.

I used to read a lot and think critically and have thoughts and be informed and have a voice that I wanted to share.

*I’m no longer upset about Chrysler because I pretty much live under a rock and don’t read the news or watch tv. I’m like never exposed to new things because the only TV I do watch is shit like Vampire Diaries and Jersey Shore. And the only news I read is Perez Hilton. So…. Yeah. And I guess Tim Allen does the voiceovers for Chrysler, which I do enjoy.

Anyway, I went to a performance of The Vagina Monologues that was put on by my school. I can’t even imagine seeing this show put on by …actual people who do these shows for real.  I was overwhelmed from the get-go.  The very first monologue had me shivering and knowing I’d end up in tears at some point.

Some of them were sad. Some were funny. Some used a lot of dirty words. Some made you laugh. And some made you cry.  But what was really wonderful is that it’s a bunch of women saying the things that most people just never say.

I enjoyed the Vagina Workshop, My Angry Vagina and My Vagina Was my Village. I think those were what they were called.  Obviously, I enjoyed the other monologues but those three were my favorite. I think. Oh, I don’t know, because The Flood was really good too.

All I can really say is this: it’s amazing. I think it’s worth experiencing once in your life. If you can find a local performance, do it. If nothing else, it’s an experience.  (Or, at the very least, read a fucking book and educate yourself on your goddamn vagina.)

