I imagine that someday when I have babies and have to leave them somewhere it will feel like when I have to leave Chief behind.

Every time I walk out the door, I always do that last look back as I say “bye bye, baby!” and my heart breaks a little bit. His sad eyes stare back at me and he sits in the hallway, just looking at me with a face that just begs, “Please take me with you!”

The same thing happened, as it does every day, when I went to leave to run an errand. (I needed ink for my printer.) But then, lightbulb!, I had a thought.

Chief is well-behaved!

He can come with me!

Where is his leash?

Where is your leash, Chiefy?!

He started to wiggle and began searching for his red leash.

We finally found it and he hopped into the car. Away we went!

I have a hard time remembering all the things we can do with Chief because we couldn’t do a lot of things with Tag. Tag was too high-strung and protective. While he was more of a snuggle-bug than Chief is, he went into protect mode when someone came to the door. He got too excited to control himself when he was out on a walk or traveling in the car.  Single minded to the point of recklessness is what I used to say to describe him.

It makes me sad to think about Tag and how he’s not here anymore.

Anyway, Chief is super calm and doesn’t get all kinds of crazy when he gets excited. The only weird thing is that he sits backwards in the car. He also is not amused by an open window and the wind in his face.  I don’t think we share the same taste in music and he doesn’t listen when I talk to him as I drive.

Having my dog in the car with me as I ran around town made me happy. I just kept thinking that that’s what it must feel like for those people who take their yorkie or Chihuahua with them everywhere they go. Only, I wasn’t as obnoxious as those people because my dog is huge, soft and adorable and he’s not twitchy and weird.

So yeah, I guess having a dog is just like having a baby.

