Drew is home.

He’s finally home.

I can’t even begin to describe what it feels like. I’m beyond joyful.

I have missed him so much and it just feels so good to have him here again.

There was a lot of traffic at the airport, and we were running late (typical) and Drew’s plane landed early, and apparently it’s not difficult to get into this country as Drew flew through customs.

When we got to the “International Arrivals” drive-up curb thing-y, Drew was already there and waiting for us. Mom was freaking out and getting a little bit road rage-y. She was ready to tuck and roll to just walk to find him. When she opened the door before even putting the car in park, I knew it was the more responsible choice to have me tuck and roll to run down the road to find him.

I got out of the car, all pissed off because she had driven on a rumble-strip just moments before and woke me from a delicious nap I had been taking.

Then, though, I hadn’t even walked ten steps before I saw him.

Tall and lanky as ever, the same as when he left, he stood probably a hundred feet away. I waved. I could tell he was trying to figure out if it was me. And then we started walking towards each other. I wanted to run but I tried to keep my cool. There were so many cars and so many people around.

But then he picked up his pace. And so I did too. Then he started running. And I felt my cold, black heart swell and I started running towards him too. Then he dropped all of his shit on the ground and wrapped me in a big, big hug. He lifted me off the ground and even though my boobs hurt after he put me down ’cause he squeezed me so hard, I didn’t really want to let go. Ever.

He’s home.

 

