There’s nothing that makes me feel more like a slacker in life than taking a nap at one o’clock in the afternoon on the couch.  I had zonked out in the living room while watching Grey’s Anatomy and awoke to the sound of the doorbell. It’s embarrassing to be startled awake and to sit up to see a man peering through the window at the front door.

Why didn’t I nap downstairs?!

That way, not only would I not have been disturbed by the doorbell, some creeper man wouldn’t be looking through the window as I sleep on the couch.

Never mind the fact that it was one o’clock in the afternoon on a Tuesday.  Never mind the fact that I woke up this morning at ten. Never mind the fact that I went to sleep the night before at a fairly early time, which I would share with you if I had any idea. But considering I woke up with my glasses in my bed, I can tell you that I fell asleep with my glasses still on my face, which doesn’t happen unless I zonk out unexpectedly.

Nothing says valuable member of society like a nap at one o’clock in the afternoon.

Also, I really sealed the deal when I made a complete ass of myself in front of his unexpected visitor.

I couldn’t figure out the lock on the door. And that was after I slipped on the hardwood floor on my way to even get to the door.

This man was from a local bathroom and kitchen cabinetry store. He was stopping by to pick up a cabinet.

If you’re confused, imagine the amount of fail that came out of my mouth and every move I made in front of him.

I was unaware we had a spare cabinet. Anywhere.

Not only did I make him repeat pretty much everything he said to me at least three times (my listening skills really are not what they used to be), I wandered around the house with him in tow repeatedly saying, “I have no idea what you’re talking about or why you’re here. I don’t know what’s going on!”

We looked in the kitchen, the laundry room, the basement, the storage room, the utilities room, the garage, the bonus room… we looked everywhere!

He awkwardly lurked in the house as I frantically called my mother, who never answers her phone. I called the switchboard at her work and made some nice man named Tyler transfer me to her office because I totally don’t know that number. And finally, I called her administrative assistant in a panic, and made her track her down across campus. My mom didn’t even have any idea why this man was at our house. We have no spare cabinets to return.

He was so not right.

Needless to say, he left. Sans cabinet.

And I was so embarrassed about my nap that I decided that I should be productive and do my homework instead. So, that’s what I did.

As for afternoon naps, let’s get real: I’m obviously still going to take naps. There is just nothing better. Even if they do get interrupted and make you feel super unproductive.

