I’m feeling uninspired today.

Do you know how hard it is to come up with something “interesting” to talk about? It’s hard. Really hard.

I’m back at Grandma’s after a week of being home-home. My life is no longer completely out of control and disorganized. I spent a good two hours last night unpacking all of my crap. I put my clothes away, hung shit up in my closet, rearranged the pile of crap on my printer, and color-coordinated slash synchronized my planners (yes, as in plural) and calendars (yes, as in plural).

I suppose that deserves just a tiny explanation.

I have two planners and two wall calendars. The only reason that I have two planners right now is because there’s overlap in the month of July. My planner ends in July (sad face) and the new one starts in July.  The only way I can make sure that I can plan far enough ahead and be aware of what is going on is if I have both of them with me. So there.

I also have two wall calendars so I can have various visual aids to guide me through the week. One calendar is of orchids. They’re lovely flowers. It has the whole month on it, holidays, class schedule, work schedule, moon schedules, you know how it goes. The other one is a dry-erase board that only fits one week at a time. This is where I can write in my work schedule, class schedule, tv shows I want to watch, various activities. Whatevs.

It’s obscene, I know. It’s too much.  But seriously, I love it. (I don’t curr, it’s sexy to let your freak-flag fly!) I LOVE spending all that time color coordinating crap so it looks pretty. I like highlighting stuff in my planner when I’ve completed a task. I enjoy going back through weeks in the past and admiring my work.

I also spent a good fifteen minutes today looking at school supplies. I could have taken longer, but I really needed to make sure I had enough time to get my pre-assignment done for my accounting class this evening. I knew exactly what I wanted but that didn’t stop me from perusing and wishing I had an endless supply of $$$$ to buy stuff I most definitely do not need. It’s not even that I spend time comparing and contrasting similar products. I just really like school supplies. Here’s what I bought:

One 1 1/2 inch binder

One 1 subject notebook

One set of dividers, with pockets (8 dividers)

It is a system of organization that allows me to excel in my masters’ program. Acutally, it just ensures I’ll get a couple looks and hear comments like “wow, you’re really organized…” and “that’s pretty impressive” with sarcastic and/or concerned tones. I think it makes people nervous that someone can be that meticulous. Maybe they’re afraid that I might be one of those crazy people who seem fine until they snap and kill everyone.

Just because I like things done right and believe that everything has a place doesn’t mean there’s something wrong with me. It’s totally fine that I cringe when someone disrupts my color-coordinating system. It’s totally fine that when something is really cluttered it makes me incredibly anxious. It’s totally fine that the paperclips in my desk at work have a sorting system. It’s totally fine that I use one pencil and one pen among many available to me.

the girls at work think this is funny. it's not funny. so. not. right.

Anyway, I get it. It’s a lot. I’m clearly high-strung. I should probably chill out and relax a little bit.

You’re aware of the crazy now. We can still be friends, though, right?

